Skip to main content

Mortar Board

West Virginia University Mortar Board is one of 229 collegiate chapters across the country. There are over 250,000 members nationally. Mortar Board was founded in 1918 when four women’s honor societies from Cornell University, University of Michigan, Ohio State University, and Swarthmore College jointed together and created the national organization.

Membership opened to men in 1975 in response to Title IX, which prohibited gender discrimination within organizations on campuses that received federal funds.

Mortar Board provides its members with opportunities for continued leadership development, promotes service to colleges and universities, and encourages lifelong contributions to the global community.

The Laurel chapter at West Virginia University was chartered in 1924 and currently has 52 members for the 2016-2017 academic year. During the 2015-2016 academic year the Laurel Chapter received the Silver Torch award from the National Office.

For more information on Mortar Board, please visit the national website:

Erin McHenry-Sorber,, 304-293-2090

Stephanie Lorenze,, 304-293-6723

President:  Sarah Morgan,

Vice President:  Sierra Brower

Secretary:  Emily Akers

Treasurer:  Macy Carder

Service Chair:  Kinsey Reed

Social Chair:  Tessa Cesario

Fundraising Chair:  Owen Ellis

Membership Chair:  Kelsey Eackles

Historian:  Brian Donaldson

Director of Communications:  Tabitha Dyer

2016-2017 Members
Sean Worix, Emily Matlock, Owen Ellis, Brooke Benton, Tabitha Dyer, Michael Amato, Dominic Raymond, Caroline Kelley, Jack Habowski, Matthew Hines, Michaela Stull, Ann Watson, Macy Carder, Hunter Neeley, Hannah Wright, Asa Ricketts, Christina Sundar, Ashley Stephens, Elizabeth Herrick, Kayla Vaughan, Abundance Hunt, Patrick Orsagos, Kristin Moro, Kinsey Reed, Julia Mellett, Jacqueline Higgins, Kelsey Eackles, David Crupe, India Yates, Mia Antinone, Benjamin Underwood, Morgan Hornsby, Sophia Runion, Sarah Mitchem, Alexis Anders, Madison Brooks, Emma Harrison, Paraag Gupta, Madison Crook, Chloe Evans, Karen Laska, Shayla Koerner, Garrett Volk, Sidney Clingerman, Logan Bays, Tessa Cesario, Savannah Misiewicz, Emily Akers, Sarah Morgan, Mikaeli Robinson, Brian Donaldson, Marisa Wurtz, Sierra Brower, Christen Mangano, Sarah Whiteman, Killian Coyne, Matthew Keaton, James Ruggiero

Membership Information

Minimum Requirements for Mortar Board:

  • Cumulative GPA of 3.4
  • 89 or more credit hours by the end of Spring 2019
  • Graduation date no earlier than December 2019

Please Note: Only college credit earned after graduation from high school will be considered in calculating these hours; transfer credit earned after high school will also count. In addition, applications must show strong performance in academics, campus activities, leadership, community service, and contributions to your field of study. See the Mortar Board’s guide for members .

Applications are due on Sunday, February 15, 2019 by 11:59 pm.

Apply Now


For questions and inquiries, please contact us at