Skip to main content

Critical Language Scholarship

Program Information

The Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) program is a fully-funded overseas language immersion program for American undergraduate and graduate students. Students of diverse disciplines and majors are encouraged to apply. CLS recipients are expected to continue their language study beyond the scholarship period and later apply their critical language skills in their future professional careers.


To be eligible for a Critical Language Scholarship you must be:
  • Interested in studying one of the following languages: Arabic, Azerbaijani, Bangla/Bengali, Chinese, Hindi, Indonesian, Japanese, Korean, Persian, Portuguese, Punjabi, Russian, Swahili, Turkish, or Urdu. Note: Some languages require prior study of the language. See CLS website for details.
  • A U.S. citizen enrolled in an accredited U.S. degree-granting program at the undergraduate or graduate level.

Award Information

Program costs are fully covered for all participants. This includes an intensive overseas group-based language course, room and board, U.S. academic credit, host community language partners, and domestic and international airfare.

Learn more about the Critical Language Scholarship.