Skip to main content

Marshall Scholarship

Program Information

The Marshall Scholarship was established by an Act of Parliament in 1953 and named for former United States Secretary of State George C. Marshall. Marshall Scholarships provide financial support for young Americans of high ability to pursue graduate degrees in the United Kingdom. Marshall Scholars are selected based on the following criteria: academic merit, leadership potential, and ambassadorial potential.


To be eligible for a Marshall Scholarship you must gain WVU endorsement and be:

  • A citizen of the United States
  • A graduating senior or a recent graduate from an accredited four-year college or university in the United States
  • Able to demonstrate that you obtained a GPA of 3.7 or greater during your undergraduate studies

Award Information

The traditional Marshall Scholarship finances two years of study, but may be extended by the Commission. A limited number of One Year Marshall Scholarships are available; these awards support scholars for one academic year. University fees, cost of living expenses, travel grants, and fares to and from the U.S. are all covered by the scholarship.

Learn more information about the Marshall Scholarship.